Author Topic: Voice chat??  (Read 1478 times)

Offline ryguy_1617

  • 3d Modeler
  • Commodore
  • *******
  • Posts: 474
  • Karma: +6/-21
    • View Profile
    • http://flashcubestudios.com
Voice chat??
« on: December 14, 2005, 06:52:31 pm »
So, with the RakNet license, we shouldn't need the chat box in the HUD anymore?  Since it supports voice chat (which is  awsome, by the way)? So basically, should we include an option of a chat box for people without a pc mic, or will we just make it a requirement for them to have a mic to chat?
« Last Edit: December 14, 2005, 07:06:44 pm by ryguy_1617 »

Offline Morgul

  • GNE Founder
  • Moderator
  • Grand Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2086
  • Karma: +21/-4
  • Godlike Fuzzy Dice
    • View Profile
    • G33X Nexus Entertainment
Re: Voice chat??
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2005, 09:59:21 pm »
I am not going to requre a mic. Actually, I still prefer text chat, because that can be logged. Voice chat is needed for FPS things, but if you're commanding people, a combination of the two produces the best result. But, yeah there will be voice chat... we'll try to get that working after we get basic networking going.

As a side note, I can set up a teamspeak server, for anyone who's interested... Temp hold over till we get rakvoice working. :P
"Just because my math may tell lies doesn't mean that I don't understand the quantum mechanics of it all." --Caenus

The popular videogame "Doom" is based loosely around the time Satan borrowed two bucks from Vin Diesel and forgot to pay him back.

"In the beginning there was nothing. And it exploded." --Terry Pratchett

Offline ryguy_1617

  • 3d Modeler
  • Commodore
  • *******
  • Posts: 474
  • Karma: +6/-21
    • View Profile
    • http://flashcubestudios.com
Re: Voice chat??
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2005, 05:24:46 am »
Ah, ok.  Just wondering :D.